Main content of the website

Fire Department

Fire Department

The Jasper Fire Department consists of a full-time Fire Chief Mathew Conte, Deputy Fire Chief Don Smith, and administrative assistant. The department also employs a contracted Training Officer and 25 volunteer firefighters, making up the Jasper Volunteer Fire Brigade.

Jasper Volunteer Fire Brigade (JVFB)

The Jasper Volunteer Fire Brigade is a dedicated group of volunteers who provide the Jasper townsite and Jasper National Park front country with firefighting and rescue services.

The member list reflects diverse individual backgrounds and occupations, with a common desire to help our community, residents, and visitors.

The JVFB supports many local events as well as organizations such as the Muscular Dystrophy Society, the Lou Gehrig’s Disease society, Jasper Victim Services, Jasper Crisis team, the Alberta Burn Victims Rehabilitation Society, Jasper Minor Sports, the Jasper Food Bank, the High School scholarship program, Boy Scouts, Girl Guides, Minor sports, and many others.

Response Area

The Jasper Fire Department's response area includes the Municipality of Jasper and Jasper National Park, as well as the areas along Highway 16 west to Mount Robson, British Columbia.

Services Provided

Jasper Fire Department runs approximately 100 full response calls per year.  A majority of the calls that JFD responds to within a year are motor vehicle incidents. JFD is involved in the following capacity:

  • Fire Suppression
  • Dangerous Goods response
  • Special rescue
  • Fire inspection
  • Fire investigation
  • Wildland Urban Interface Facility Protection
  • Critical Incident Stress Management
  • Fire Prevention Education
  • Pre-school to Grade 12 Fire education
  • Local business staff training
  • Hotel Fire safety course
  • Fire Extinguisher training
  • Community sponsorship
  • SCUBA and SCBA breathing air refills

The Fire Department is also actively involved in emergency preparedness and fire prevention and safety.

Contact Us

Mathew Conte - Fire Chief / Director of Emergency Management

Don Smith - Deputy Fire Chief

Kelly Dawson - Captain of Training & Fire Prevention

Katy Poirier - Protective Services Coordinator